by Aaron Posner, sort of adapted from The Seagull by Anton Chekhov

March 30th - April 15

NYTimes: "Chekhov's SEAGULL Acquires New Wings"

In this irreverent, contemporary, and very funny remix of Chekhov’s "The Seagull", Aaron Posner stages a timeless battle between young and old, past and present, in search of the true meaning of it all.  An aspiring young director rampages against the art created by his mother’s generation. A nubile young actress wrestles with an aging Hollywood star for the affections of a renowned novelist. And everyone discovers just how disappointing love, art, and growing up can be.

Original songs composed by James Sugg draw the famously subtextual inner thoughts of Chekhov’s characters explicitly to the surface. STUPID F@#%ING BIRD will tickle, tantalize, and incite you to consider how art, love, and revolution fuel your own pursuit of happiness.

Runtime: 2 hours and 20 minutes, with one intermission
Strong language and brief nudity

All performances will be held at:
Queens University's Hadley Theater
2132 Radcliffe Ave.
Charlotte, NC 28274

 

Carmen R. Lawrence as MASH AMBERSON, Mariana Bracciale as NINA ZACHERY, Rob Addison as DR. EUGENE SORN, Becca Worthington as EMMA ARKADINA, Scott A. Miller as DOYLE TRIGORIN: Photo Courtesy of Ramsey Lyric

Special Thanks to Queens University for Hosting this Production!

Thursday, March 30 @ 7:30 PM - OPENING NIGHT
Friday, March 31 @ 8:00 PM
Saturday, April 1 @ 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 2 @ 2:30 PM

Wednesday, April 5 @ 7:30 PM
Thursday, April 6 @ 7:30 PM
Friday, April 7 @ 8:00 PM
Saturday, April 8 @ 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 9 @ 2:30 PM

Tuesday, April 11 @ 7:30 PM
Wednesday, April 12 @ 7:30 PM
Thursday, April 13 @ 7:30 PM
Friday, April 14 @ 8:00 PM
Saturday, April 15 @ 8:00 PM